Skip to content

Starting things off: The Introduction to the BMW world.

September 27, 2012

I can’t say what made me change my mind and sell my old car (Honda S2000), but I can say it was a decision I don’t regret. After I had the thought of owning a BMW M3 in my head, I knew I couldn’t let myself down.

It all began with taking all of the aftermarket parts off of my S2000 and putting them up for sale. I returned the car to a factory state so it would be more appealing to the buying crowd. The whole process took over a month, but I knew I couldn’t give up. I was able to put the S2000 up for sale in early June of 2012. Now I just had to wait for the right person to come along!

I was able to work out a deal with an awesome buyer who was interested in the car. Everything worked out great, and I was ready to look for my BMW M3. I figured there was no better place to look than BMW’s website (www.bmwusa.com). Now before starting my search for an M3, I knew it had to be red. I also wanted it to have certain options that were offered by BMW. So with that in mind I set out on a search for a pre-owned M3.

There was only about 60 different M3’s to choose from, with only 4 or 5 being Melbourne Red. Most of the red ones had beige interior which I HATE. Luckily though, I found one with all black interior. It also had navigation, and a carbon fiber roof (which I wanted), and it had a 6 speed manual transmission (I would not have settled for a smg/auto gearbox). I had finally found the car that I wanted! The only problem was, the car was in Texas (mind you I live in New Jersey).

Without hesitation I e-mailed the BMW dealer it was located at to make sure they still had the car (BMW of Austin). They said they did, and they asked me if I wanted to take it for a test drive. I explained to them my situation and my picky-ness for finding the right M3. He agreed these cars were hard to find, and didn’t blame me for be interested in the M3, even though it was halfway across the United States.

What ensued was many phone calls, a lot of faxes, and a whole bunch of paperwork. Once I knew I was approved for the M3, I booked my flight from NJ to TX so sign all of the paperwork. My trip was scheduled for June 26th, a day flight to TX and back. I flew out there early in the morning to arrive at the dealership at a decent time. It was a very hectic day, but before returning to NJ I was able to make it into Austin, TX to grab some food on famous 6th Street.

Taken at the BMW dealer in Austin, TX:

Now if you have read this far, you must be wondering how the M3 was getting to NJ, right? Well, I called a few car shipping companies before I flew to TX, and was able to seal a deal to have my M3 shipped from TX to NJ. It arrived at my house July 2nd!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

